Photo collage of award recipients.

Coaches, former athletes inducted into Wall of Honor

Several former Penn Manor student athletes and coaches were inducted into the Athletic Wall of Honor during a ceremony January 20 in the high school auditorium.

The inductees included Coach Joe Herman, football and basketball star Cody Booth, pole vaulter Jocelyn Witmer, the 1997 girls’ track 3,200-meter relay team, and the 2005 boys’ volleyball team.

Joe Herman, a former Penn Manor teacher, was the Comets’ head and assistant track coach for over 40 years, leading numerous student athletes to district and state medals. He also was a longtime boys’ soccer coach and has been the boys’ basketball scorekeeper for more than 40 years.

Jocelyn Witmer (Class of 2008) was a three-time L-L League champion, a two-time District III champion and finished 4th and 5th in the PIAA championship. She also was the Lancaster Newspapers Track & Field Athlete of the Year in 2008 and competed for Penn State as an NCAA qualifier.

The 1997 girls’ relay team of Tess Smith, Allison (Funk) Hess, Erin (Gemmill) Panzarella, and Betty Mohler Tesch, won the 1997 League and District III Championships and finished fifth in the state. They also set a school record of 9:26.82. 

Cody Booth (Class of 2009) was a league all-star in football as a tight end and defensive end and earned first team Lancaster-Lebanon All-League Honors in basketball in his senior year. Cody was a four-year football letterman at Temple University and spent three years in the NFL. He is an assistant football coach at the University of Idaho.

The 2005 boys’ volleyball team, coached by Chris Telesco, was Section I, Lancaster-Lebanon League and District III Champions. The team was ranked number 1 in the state for most of the season and finished fifth in the state.  

Prior to the ceremony, the inductees and guests enjoyed dinner in the high school large group instruction room. The Wall of Honor inductees were later recognized during halftime of the boys’ basketball game.

Congratulations to these former students and coaches, past and present!

(Photos courtesy of Isabella Siebold, PMHS senior)

  • Photo of Wall of Honor recipient Joe Herman.
    Joe Herman