Penn Manor logo

Teams, athletes and coach to be inducted into Wall of Honor January 20

Penn Manor will induct two former student athletes, a coach and two athletic teams into its Athletic Wall of Honor during a dinner and ceremony on January 20.

This year’s inductees include:

Joe Herman, a longtime coach and supporter of Penn Manor athletics. A former Penn Manor teacher, Joe was the Comets’ head and assistant track coach for over 40 years, leading numerous student athletes to district and state medals. He also was a longtime boys’ soccer coach and has been the boys’ basketball scorekeeper for more than 40 years.

The 2005 boys’ volleyball team, which was Section I, Lancaster-Lebanon League and District III Champions. The team was ranked number 1 in the state for part of the season and finished fifth in the state.  

The 1997 girls’ track 3200-meter relay team of Tess Smith, Allison (Funk) Hess, Erin (Gemmill) Panzarella, and Betty Mohler Tesch. The team won the 1997 League and District III Championships and finished fifth in the state. They also set a school record of 9:26:82. 

Cody Booth (Class of 2009), who excelled in football and basketball. Cody was a league all-star in football as a tight end and defensive end and earned first team Lancaster-Lebanon All-League Honors in basketball in his senior year. Cody spent three years in the NFL.

Jocelyn Witmer (Class of 2008), a pole vaulter who was a three-time L-L League champion, a two-time District III champion and finished 4th and 5th in the PIAA championship. She also was the Lancaster Newspapers Track & Field Athlete of the Year in 2008.

The dinner will begin at 5 p.m. on January 20 in the high school cafeteria, followed by the awards ceremony at 6:30 p.m. in the high school auditorium.

Tickets are $30 and can be purchased by emailing Jill Hamill in the Penn Manor athletic office at or calling 717-872-9520, extension 1867.

The inductees will be recognized following the ceremony at halftime of the Penn Manor boys’ home basketball game against McCaskey.

  • Photo of Jocelyn Witmer
  • Photo of Joe Herman
  • Photo of Cody Booth