Manor FFA members with awards

Manor FFA honors members, supporters at annual banquet

The Manor FFA chapter at Penn Manor High School honored its members and supporters at its annual banquet, held March 24 in the high school auditorium.

Pennsylvania FFA State Vice President Greg Gipe spoke at the event, highlighting the importance of learning to fail in order to succeed. He also shared some of his memories of working with Manor FFA members over the past year.  

During the banquet, members received the following awards:

Star Greenhand – Madison Martin (placement) and Kayla Wasche (production).

Star Chapter Award  – Jenna Smith (farmer), Elizabeth Strickler (agribusiness) and Leah Hess (placement).

Upperclassmen Leadership Awards – Micah Frey (Dekalb Award), Addy Eby (Charles Award and Outstanding Volunteer), Emma French (Most Improved Senior, Birchler Award and Outstanding Interview Award), Chloe Perry (Outstanding Contributor) and Jacqueline Nachmias (Humanitarian Award).

Proficiency Awards –  Carly Railing (dairy production), Olivia Malpica (goat production), Jenna Smith (diversified livestock), Abigail Walborn (equine placement), Katharine Moyer (agricultural mechanics placement), Molly Gehr (sheep production), and Leah Hess (specialty crop production).

Underclassmen Leadership Awards – Layne Perry, Carly Railing, Olivia Malpica, Jeanette Kneisley and Katharine Moyer (Emerging Leaders Award) and Elisabeth Strickler (Bachman Sports Leadership).

Scholarship Recipients – Carly Sweigart (Highest GPA of the chapter and careers in agricultural sciences), and Addy Eby (careers in agricultural sciences).

SAE Grant Recipients – Lincoln Stewart (expanding goat production), Logan Broderick (starting pumpkin production), Jeanette Kneisley (starting dairy beef equipment), Jenna Smith (expanding goat production), Ava Herr (zoo camp), Abigail Walborn (expanding equine placement) and Elizabeth Strickler (starting show dogs).

Blue & Gold Award – Penn Manor superintendent Mike Leichliter.

Honorary Chapter Degree recipients – Central Manor Dairy, Travis Wilson, Adriene and Dennis Oatman, Jay and Beth Hess, Robyn Weaver and Michael Cornman.

At the close of the banquet, Manor FFA officers for 2022-2023 were installed. They are Chloe Perry (president), Brandon McMichael (vice president), and Jenna Smith, Layne Perry, Carly Railing, Molly Gehr, Katharine Moyer, Olivia Malpica, Jeanette Kneisley, Bethany Kramer and Mackenzi Nafzinger.

–Submitted by Manor FFA reporters Olivia Malpica, Jeanette Kneisley

  • Star Greenhand award winners Madison Martin and Kayla Wasche.
    Star Greenhand award winners Madison Martin, left, and Kayla Wasche.