School board directors sworn in to new terms

Four members of the Penn Manor board of school directors were sworn in Monday to serve four-year terms on the board.

District Judge Joshua Keller administered the oath of office to Christopher Straub, David Paitsel, Dr. Rich Frerichs and newcomer Nickole Nafziger. All will serve through 2021.

Nafziger replaces Johnna Friedman, a 14-year veteran who decided not to run for re-election this year. Nicki is a 2000 Penn Manor graduate with two children in Penn Manor schools – Mackenzi at Eshleman Elementary and Isiac at Manor Middle School.

Also Tuesday, the school board re-elected Ken Long as president and Herk Rintz as vice president.

“The Penn Manor community is fortunate to have nine dedicated board directors who are committed to providing a quality education to our students,” said superintendent Mike Leichliter.

“Congratulations to both Ken and Herk on their continued positions of leadership and to Nicki on her new position.  Penn Manor continues to be in excellent hands!”

This slideshow requires JavaScript.