National Honor Society Inducts 45 New Members

Twenty-four juniors and twenty-one seniors from Penn Manor High School were inducted into membership of the National Honor Society in an evening ceremony at the high school on September 28, 2010. These new inductees will join the 32 seniors who were inducted last year

Members were selected by the faculty for meeting high standards of scholarship, service, leadership, and character. Students must have a cumulative grade point average of 3.85 or higher and be active members of their community to be eligible for consideration.

Students inducted were:Landon Alecxih, Lars Andersen, Sara Bennis, Abigail Barley, Kayla Bixler, Haley Blazer, Ian Bricker, Josh Carle, Mark Christman, Eric Clark, Erica Coakley, Benjamin Crisman, Natalie Dell’Estate, Andrea Deibert, Olivia Dietrich, Zachary Estep, Kayley Gaukler, Jennifer Hanner, Selena Hasircoglu, Mikayla Herbert, Andrew Herr, Peter Horning, Elsie Huber, Zachary Kauffman, Peter Keares, Alex Kirk, Kelly Lenahan, Jing Li, Erin Loy, Harrison Manning, Karen Myers, Michael Nitroy, Abigail Novak, Zachary Rayha, Lauren Ressler, Brianna Rice, Abigail Sanders, Jenna Santaniello, Sarah Scheaffer, Megan Schlegelmilch, Conner Snow, Cody Straub, Ian Toomey, Laura Witwer, Faith Zimmerman.

Advisors Mrs. Kathy Grenier and Mr. Erick Dutchess expect these new National Honor Society members to continue their exemplary contributions to the school and community.

The NHS officers elected for the 2010-2011 school year are President—Sophia Wu-Shanley, Secretary—Jessica Cheng, Treasurer—Allison Duke, Historian—Mikah Farbo

The National Honor Society ranks as one of the oldest and most prestigious national organizations for high school students. Chapters exist in three-fourths of the nation’s high schools and since 1921 millions of students have been selected for membership. The Penn Manor High School Chapter has been active since 1930. Thousands of dollars in scholarships have been awarded to senior members since 1945 by the sponsoring organization, The National Association of Secondary School Principals.